Wren AI
Wren AI is a data-analysis agent that turns natural language into governed SQL across 20+ data sources including BigQuery, PostgreSQL, ClickHouse and Amazon Redshift, running tools and scripts inside an isolated environment and describing its design as sandboxed, multi-step reasoning rather than chat. Agents query, chart, extract from PDFs, build dashboards and save skills. Its governance layer is the strongest thing it publishes: row- and column-level scoping, with access enforced at query time across every caller, human or agent, and role-based access with full activity logs that the vendor says make it provable who saw what and which query produced which number — though no tamper-evidence mechanism and no retention period are described. It is deployable as multi-tenant cloud, private cloud or air-gapped on-premise, exposes REST endpoints for embedding, and supports MCP. The engine is described as open source with no licence named on the page checked. A customer testimonial claims up to an 80% query hit rate. Adoption figures on the page are not internally consistent: it claims 15,000+ data experts and analytics teams in one place and 50,000+ users in another, and the two are not reconciled. No certification, regulatory posture, AI liability cover, indemnity or outcome-linked payment term is published on the page checked.
16 fields evidenced · 43 with no public information. Every value below links to the document it came from and the date we checked it.
8 of those are quoted but not yet interpreted: we hold the source sentence and the date we read it, but nobody has written the answer to the question yet. Those rows show the quote and say so rather than repeating it back as an answer. Why these exist
9 of the evidenced values quote wording our own later capture of the same page no longer contains. Marked below, awaiting an editor.
Also appears in
Trust gap
How this is scoredAre scope, spend, and authority enforced while the agent runs?
Scope is enforced at execution time rather than advised: row- and column-level scoping is applied to every caller, and the page states access is enforced at query time across humans and agents alike. Short of 3 because no spend or authority ceiling is published and the enforcement is a vendor claim with no independent verification.
Counts Audit trail and Permission scopes, each cited below.
Is there a tamper-evident record of what it actually did?
Publishes a customer-reviewable record with attribution: "Role-based access with full activity logs. Provable who saw what, which query produced which number." Short of 3 because "provable" is asserted without a mechanism — no hash-chaining, no tamper-evidence claim, and no retention period.
Counts Audit trail, each cited below.
Are compliance obligations attached per engagement?
No public evidence found. The page checked names no certification, attestation or regulatory posture. Its "Unified Data Policy" section describes access control (RLS and CLS), not a compliance position, and was rejected as compliance evidence in this audit.
How this gap gets closed →Does payment depend on a verified result?
Payment is decoupled from result: a free open-source tier with a paid upgrade for governance, embedded API and enterprise support. No escrow, milestone release, clawback or outcome-linked term is published.
Counts Pricing model, each cited below.
How this gap gets closed →Can the deployment be insured, and is the customer indemnified?
No public evidence found. The page checked publishes no AI liability cover for a customer deploying Wren AI, no named carrier, no policy limits, no customer indemnity and no liability cap.
How this gap gets closed →Assurance
- Insurance available
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Own liability cover
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Insurance carriers
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Coverage limits
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Indemnification
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Liability cap
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Audit trail
“Role-based access with full activity logs. Provable who saw what, which query produced which number.”
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026- Tamper-evident log
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Explainability
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Runtime governance
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Permission scopes
“Row & column-level scoping”
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026- Compliance certifications
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Regulatory alignment
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Outcome-based pricing
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Settlement mechanism
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Asset custody
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Dispute process
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- SLA terms
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Evaluation coverage
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Self-reported performance
- A customer testimonial on the page claims "up to an 80% query hit rate"
“delivers up to an 80% query hit rate”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 17, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026
Agency
- Autonomy level
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Human oversight
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Goal complexity
- Multi-step reasoning in a sandbox, positioned against single-turn chat
“Agentic Design 01 Not just chat. Sandboxed, multi-step reasoning.”
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 - Action space
“Tools and scripts run inside an isolated environment. Agents query, chart, extract from PDFs, build dashboards, save skills.”
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026- Operating environment
“20+ data sources: BigQuery, PostgreSQL, ClickHouse, Amazon Redshift, and dialect-agnostic.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 17, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026- Initiative
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
Safety
- Safety evaluations
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Red teaming
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Safety policy
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Usage restrictions
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Model or system card
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Incident reporting
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Third-party evaluations
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Data handling
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
Practicality
- Pricing model
“Start free with open-source GenBI. Upgrade to full Agentic GenBI for governance, embedded API, and enterprise support.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 17, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026- Price point
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Availability
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Deployment options
“Multi-tenant cloud, private cloud, and air-gapped on-prem.”
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026- Integrations
- 20+ data sources including BigQuery, PostgreSQL, ClickHouse and Amazon Redshift
“20+ data sources: BigQuery, PostgreSQL, ClickHouse, Amazon Redshift, and dialect-agnostic.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 17, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 - Supported regions
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Support model
- "Enterprise support" named as a paid-tier feature; no response times or remedies published
“Upgrade to full Agentic GenBI for governance, embedded API, and enterprise support.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 17, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026
Foundation models
- Base models
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Model provider
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Model swappable
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Open weights
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Fine-tuning
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Context window
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
Ecosystem
- Protocols supported
- MCP; MDL, text-to-SQL and a CLI listed in the same capability row
“MDL · text-to-SQL · MCP · CLI · 20+ connectors”
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 - Tool use
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Multi-agent
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- API access
“Embedded AI API REST Build your own UX on the raw endpoints: natural language to governed SQL with execution, plus chart specs you render in your stack.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 17, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026- Open source
- Engine self-described as open source; no licence named on the page checked
“The engine is open source. That's the difference.”
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 - Marketplace presence
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
Impact
- User base
- Self-reported 15,000+ data experts and analytics teams. The same page separately claims 50,000+ users (see deployment_scale); the two figures are not reconciled on the page
“Trusted by 15,000+ data experts and analytics teams worldwide.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 17, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 - Deployment scale
“Trusted by 50,000+ users worldwide. Public companies across the US, EU, Middle East, and Asia.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 17, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026- Target sectors
- Manufacturing, healthcare, finance, retail and media
“Use cases in production across industries How companies across manufacturing, healthcare, finance, retail and media ship governed answers to humans and agents.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 17, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
www.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 - High-risk domains
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Documented incidents
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
- Market recognition
- no public informationwww.getwren.ai · checked Aug 9, 2026 · source did not state this
Compared with
Side-by-side on the fields where Wren AI and the other entry are both on record and actually differ.