Twilio AI Assistants
Twilio Agent Connect (TAC) is an SDK for connecting LLM-powered agents to Twilio's communication channels. It is indexed here as "Twilio AI Assistants" after the URL path it is documented at (twilio.com/docs/alpha/ai-assistants, retrieved 2026-08-02, the entity's only source document); the page itself names the product Twilio Agent Connect throughout, and the index name has not been updated to match. Per that page, TAC acts as middleware between the customer's own LLM application and Twilio services - Voice, messaging channels, Conversation Memory and Conversation Orchestrator - distributed as a Python package exposing channel and server modules, so it runs inside the customer's application rather than as a managed runtime. Developers define custom tools, search knowledge bases and configure escalation to human agents, and integrate with AWS Bedrock, Microsoft Foundry, OpenAI or any LLM provider, leaving the model customer-selected and swappable. The only compliance statement on the page is a disclaimer: Twilio states Agent Connect "is not PCI compliant or a HIPAA Eligible Service and should not be used in workflows that are subject to HIPAA or PCI", so healthcare and payment-card settings are explicitly excluded rather than supported. No certification, audit trail, run-time limit on the agent's scope, spend or authority, pricing, insurance, indemnity or outcome-linked payment term appears on the page checked.
13 fields evidenced · 46 with no public information. Every value below links to the document it came from and the date we checked it.
3 of those are quoted but not yet interpreted: we hold the source sentence and the date we read it, but nobody has written the answer to the question yet. Those rows show the quote and say so rather than repeating it back as an answer. Why these exist
Also appears in
Trust gap
How this is scoredAre scope, spend, and authority enforced while the agent runs?
No public evidence found. Checked the captured Twilio Agent Connect documentation page: it describes configurable escalation to human agents, which is oversight routing, not an enforced limit on the agent's scope, spend or authority at run time. No quota, budget or authority ceiling is documented. The runtime_governance field is no_public_information.
How this gap gets closed →Is there a tamper-evident record of what it actually did?
No public evidence found. Checked the captured documentation page: Conversation Memory is described as context retrieval for personalisation, not as a reviewable or tamper-evident record of agent actions. No logging, trace retention or immutability claim is made. The audit_trail field is no_public_information.
How this gap gets closed →Are compliance obligations attached per engagement?
Nothing held, and the vendor says so. The only compliance statement on the page is a disclaimer: "Twilio Agent Connect is not PCI compliant or a HIPAA Eligible Service and should not be used in workflows that are subject to HIPAA or PCI." No certification, attestation or auditor is named. This corrects an automated v1-auto score of 2 that had counted the disclaimer as compliance evidence because it counted field presence without reading polarity.
How this gap gets closed →Does payment depend on a verified result?
No public evidence found. Checked the captured documentation page: it publishes no pricing or commercial terms of any kind, so no outcome-linked settlement is evidenced. The pricing_model and outcome_based_pricing fields are no_public_information.
How this gap gets closed →Can the deployment be insured, and is the customer indemnified?
No public evidence found. Checked the captured documentation page: no carrier, cover, limit, indemnity or liability term appears. Read alongside the vendor's own HIPAA/PCI disclaimer, the page shifts regulatory risk to the integrator rather than assuming any.
How this gap gets closed →Assurance
- Insurance available
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Own liability cover
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 18, 2026 · source did not state this
- Insurance carriers
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Coverage limits
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Indemnification
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Liability cap
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Audit trail
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Tamper-evident log
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Explainability
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Runtime governance
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Permission scopes
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Compliance certifications
- None held. The vendor states Agent Connect is not PCI compliant and not a HIPAA Eligible Service.
“Twilio Agent Connect is not PCI compliant or a HIPAA Eligible Service”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Regulatory alignment
- The vendor disclaims HIPAA and PCI scope, directing that the product not be used in workflows subject to either.
“Twilio Agent Connect is not PCI compliant or a HIPAA Eligible Service and should not be used in workflows that are subject to HIPAA or PCI.”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Outcome-based pricing
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Settlement mechanism
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Asset custody
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 18, 2026 · source did not state this
- Dispute process
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- SLA terms
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Evaluation coverage
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Self-reported performance
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 18, 2026 · source did not state this
Agency
- Autonomy level
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Human oversight
- Escalation to human agents is configurable by the developer.
“Define custom tools, search knowledge bases, and configure escalation to human agents.”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Goal complexity
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Action space
“Connect LLM-powered agents to Twilio's communication channels with a unified interface. Retrieve customer context from Conversation Memory to personalize every interaction. Define custom tools, search knowledge bases, and configure escalation to human agents.”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Operating environment
“Connect AI agents to Twilio's platform. TAC is an SDK that acts as middleware between your LLM applications and Twilio services — Voice, messaging channels, Conversation Memory, and Conversation Orchestrator”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Initiative
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
Safety
- Safety evaluations
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Red teaming
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Safety policy
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Usage restrictions
- Must not be used in workflows subject to HIPAA or PCI, per the vendor.
“Twilio Agent Connect is not PCI compliant or a HIPAA Eligible Service and should not be used in workflows that are subject to HIPAA or PCI.”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Model or system card
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Incident reporting
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Third-party evaluations
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Data handling
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
Practicality
- Pricing model
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Price point
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Availability
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Deployment options
- Customer-hosted SDK acting as middleware inside the customer's own LLM application; no managed or hosted runtime is described.
“TAC is an SDK that acts as middleware between your LLM applications and Twilio services”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Integrations
- Named: AWS Bedrock, Microsoft Foundry, OpenAI; plus Twilio Voice, messaging channels, Conversation Memory and Conversation Orchestrator.
“Integrate with AWS Bedrock, Microsoft Foundry, OpenAI, or any LLM provider.”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Supported regions
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Support model
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
Foundation models
- Base models
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Model provider
- Customer-selected: AWS Bedrock, Microsoft Foundry, OpenAI, or any LLM provider.
“Integrate with AWS Bedrock, Microsoft Foundry, OpenAI, or any LLM provider.”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Model swappable
- Yes - the SDK integrates with AWS Bedrock, Microsoft Foundry, OpenAI, or any LLM provider.
“Integrate with AWS Bedrock, Microsoft Foundry, OpenAI, or any LLM provider.”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Open weights
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Fine-tuning
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Context window
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
Ecosystem
- Protocols supported
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Tool use
“Define custom tools, search knowledge bases, and configure escalation to human agents.”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Multi-agent
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- API access
- Public Python SDK (package "tac") exposing SMS and voice channel modules and a FastAPI server class.
“from tac.channels.sms import SMSChannel from tac.channels.voice import VoiceChannel from tac.server import TACFastAPIServer”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Open source
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Marketplace presence
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
Impact
- User base
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Deployment scale
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Target sectors
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- High-risk domains
- Explicitly excluded by the vendor: not to be used in workflows subject to HIPAA or PCI, i.e. healthcare and payment-card settings.
“Twilio Agent Connect is not PCI compliant or a HIPAA Eligible Service and should not be used in workflows that are subject to HIPAA or PCI.”
www.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 - Documented incidents
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Market recognition
- no public informationwww.twilio.com · checked Aug 18, 2026 · source did not state this