Litrevu
Litrevu is an AI research assistant that organises uploaded source papers into structured literature-review notes. On the page checked (litrevu.com, retrieved 2026-08-02) the vendor states that users upload their own sources, that it can pull papers from OpenAlex, that every citation traces back to a PDF the user uploaded, and that the user reviews and revises the result. Paid plans are a one-time purchase rather than a subscription, priced at $8.49 for 7,500 words, $29.99 for 50,000 and $99.99 for 250,000, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. The vendor states uploaded papers are never shared, are not used for AI training, and can be deleted at any time, and it advises users to check their institution's AI policy before submitting work, describing the product as a drafting tool rather than a shortcut around academic standards. No compliance certification, insurance or indemnity is published on the page checked.
15 fields evidenced · 44 with no public information. Every value below links to the document it came from and the date we checked it.
12 of those are quoted but not yet interpreted: we hold the source sentence and the date we read it, but nobody has written the answer to the question yet. Those rows show the quote and say so rather than repeating it back as an answer. Why these exist
Also appears in
Trust gap
How this is scoredAre scope, spend, and authority enforced while the agent runs?
Output volume is bounded at run time by a purchased word quota (Starter $8.49/7,500 words; Scholar $29.99/50,000; Platinum $99.99/250,000), which is a spend/scope cap. No enforcement of authority, tool scope or action limits is published.
Counts Price point, each cited below.
How this gap gets closed →Is there a tamper-evident record of what it actually did?
Output provenance is customer-reviewable: the vendor states every citation traces back to a PDF the user uploaded. This is per-output traceability, not a tamper-evident or hash-chained record of the agent's own actions, and no retention or export of such a record is published.
Counts Explainability, each cited below.
How this gap gets closed →Are compliance obligations attached per engagement?
No public evidence found. The vendor publishes no compliance posture, certification or audit schedule; its usage note defers the question to the customer ("Always check your institution's AI policy before submitting"), which places the obligation on the user rather than publishing a posture of its own.
How this gap gets closed →Does payment depend on a verified result?
A 30-day money-back guarantee is published, and plans are a one-time purchase rather than a subscription. That is a blanket refund window, not payment released against a verified outcome; the fee is owed regardless of whether the literature review is usable.
Counts Dispute process, each cited below.
How this gap gets closed →Can the deployment be insured, and is the customer indemnified?
No public evidence found. No carrier, cover, liability cap or customer indemnity is named anywhere on the page checked.
How this gap gets closed →Assurance
- Insurance available
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Own liability cover
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Sep 5, 2026 · source did not state this
- Insurance carriers
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Coverage limits
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Indemnification
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Liability cap
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Audit trail
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Tamper-evident log
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Explainability
“Every citation traces back to a PDF you uploaded. Nothing is fabricated or hallucinated.”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Runtime governance
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Permission scopes
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Compliance certifications
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Regulatory alignment
- States compliance with POPIA (South Africa), GDPR (EU), and CCPA (US/California)
“in compliance with the Protection of Personal Information Act (POPIA) of South Africa, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) of the European Union, and the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) of the United States, as applicable to your jurisdiction.”
litrevu.com · checked Sep 5, 2026 - Outcome-based pricing
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Settlement mechanism
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Asset custody
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Sep 5, 2026 · source did not state this
- Dispute process
“30-day money-back guarantee”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- SLA terms
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Evaluation coverage
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Self-reported performance
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Sep 5, 2026 · source did not state this
Agency
- Autonomy level
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Human oversight
“You review and revise, in hours instead of weeks.”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Goal complexity
“Litrevu organizes the literature around your research question”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Action space
“Upload your sources. Litrevu organizes the literature around your research question, with real citations from YOUR papers.”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Operating environment
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Initiative
“Litrevu reads and synthesizes them into structured notes with real citations. You guide the topic and research question”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026
Safety
- Safety evaluations
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Red teaming
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Safety policy
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Usage restrictions
“Always check your institution’s AI policy before submitting. Litrevu is a drafting tool, not a shortcut around academic standards.”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Model or system card
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Incident reporting
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Third-party evaluations
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Data handling
“Your papers are never shared · Not used for AI training · Delete anytime”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026
Practicality
- Pricing model
“Paid plans are a one-time purchase, not a subscription”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Price point
- One-time-purchase tiers: Starter $8.49/7,500 words, Scholar $49/100,000 words, Platinum $99.99/250,000 words. Scholar's price/quota rose from the previously captured $29.99 for 50,000 words.
“Starter at $8.49 for 7,500 words, Scholar at $49 for 100,000 words, and Platinum at $99.99 for 250,000 words”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 26, 2026 - Availability
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Deployment options
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Integrations
“pull papers from OpenAlex”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- Supported regions
- Based in South Africa; processes and transfers data to South Africa, the United States, and other jurisdictions
“Litrevu is based in South Africa. Your information may be transferred to and processed in countries outside your country of residence, including South Africa, the United States (where our AI processing providers and cloud infrastructure are located), and other jurisdictions.”
litrevu.com · checked Sep 5, 2026 - Support model
“Priority support Everything in Starter”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026
Foundation models
- Base models
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Model provider
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Model swappable
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Open weights
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Fine-tuning
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Context window
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
Ecosystem
- Protocols supported
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Tool use
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Multi-agent
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- API access
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Open source
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Marketplace presence
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
Impact
- User base
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Deployment scale
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Target sectors
“AI Research Assistant for Students”
litrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026- High-risk domains
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Documented incidents
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Aug 2, 2026 · source did not state this
- Market recognition
- no public informationlitrevu.com · checked Sep 5, 2026 · source did not state this
Compared with
Side-by-side on the fields where Litrevu and the other entry are both on record and actually differ.