clipy AI Agent
Clipy is an agent-readable screen recorder for Mac, Chrome and the web, capturing from a native app, terminal, simulator or browser tab. Every share link stays both a video a team can watch and a markdown report a coding agent can read, and the product ships a CLI and an MCP server, so agents such as Claude Code, Codex or Cursor can be set up in one command and capture their own work. Recordings are stored on Clipy servers, unlisted by default so that only link-holders can view them, and deletable by the user at any time. Access to the agent-readable context of a recording follows the same access rules as the recording itself, which the vendor states plainly means anyone holding an unrestricted public link can open it. Recording is free to start with no payment card and needs the Pro tier at $9 per month past the free allowance. The vendor publishes one controlled benchmark of 20 primary trials on a single synthetic UI task with Codex, and itself disclaims that the result establishes the same improvement for every task, model or competing tool. It is backed by Codersera. Site counters are self-reported and move between captures, showing roughly 529,000 recordings shared and 329,550 people creating at the 2026-09-11 capture. On the assurance questions this index scores, nothing is published. No certification or regulatory framework is named, no carrier, cover limit or customer indemnity appears, and no run-time scope, spend or authority limit is enforced. Recordings are retained and user-deletable, but that is the product output rather than a governance record, and no tamper-evidence is claimed. Currency note - a newer capture of this page taken 2026-09-18 has no evidence row yet, so no field here cites it. Eight fields still cite the 2026-09-04 capture. The $9 Pro price is unchanged across every capture including the newest. Re-extraction against the newest capture is pending with the Researcher.
18 fields evidenced · 41 with no public information. Every value below links to the document it came from and the date we checked it.
9 of the evidenced values quote wording our own later capture of the same page no longer contains. Marked below, awaiting an editor.
Also appears in
Trust gap
How this is scoredAre scope, spend, and authority enforced while the agent runs?
No public evidence found: no scope, spend or authority limit enforced at run time is published.
Our automated recount on Sep 14, 2026 counted enough evidenced fields for 1/3. It never reads what those fields say, so it does not overturn the score above, judged on Sep 7, 2026 — but where the two disagree it is a reason to read this dimension again. Why there are two scores
Judged Sep 7, 2026; evidence newer. We have since re-read Runtime governance and Permission scopes, most recently on Sep 11, 2026. No one has re-scored this dimension against them — the score above stands, but it is older than the evidence below it. How current a score is
How this gap gets closed →Is there a tamper-evident record of what it actually did?
The product is itself a recording tool and the vendor states recordings are retained and deletable by the user. That is a customer-reviewable record of captured sessions, but it is the product output, not a governance record, and no tamper-evidence is claimed.
Judged Sep 7, 2026; evidence newer. We have since re-read Audit trail and Tamper-evident log, most recently on Sep 11, 2026. No one has re-scored this dimension against them — the score above stands, but it is older than the evidence below it. How current a score is
How this gap gets closed →Are compliance obligations attached per engagement?
No public evidence found: no certification or regulatory framework is named.
Judged Sep 7, 2026; evidence newer. We have since re-read Compliance certifications and Regulatory alignment, most recently on Sep 11, 2026. No one has re-scored this dimension against them — the score above stands, but it is older than the evidence below it. How current a score is
How this gap gets closed →Does payment depend on a verified result?
No public evidence found: pricing is a free allowance then a $9/month subscription, with no outcome-linked settlement term.
Our automated recount on Sep 14, 2026 counted enough evidenced fields for 1/3. It never reads what those fields say, so it does not overturn the score above, judged on Sep 7, 2026 — but where the two disagree it is a reason to read this dimension again. Why there are two scores
Judged Sep 7, 2026; evidence newer. We have since re-read Outcome-based pricing and Settlement mechanism, most recently on Sep 11, 2026. No one has re-scored this dimension against them — the score above stands, but it is older than the evidence below it. How current a score is
How this gap gets closed →Can the deployment be insured, and is the customer indemnified?
No public evidence found: no carrier, cover, limit or customer indemnity is published.
Judged Sep 7, 2026; evidence newer. We have since re-read Insurance available, Insurance carriers, Coverage limits and Indemnification, most recently on Sep 11, 2026. No one has re-scored this dimension against them — the score above stands, but it is older than the evidence below it. How current a score is
How this gap gets closed →Assurance
- Insurance available
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Own liability cover
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Insurance carriers
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Coverage limits
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Indemnification
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Liability cap
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Audit trail
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Tamper-evident log
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Explainability
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Runtime governance
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Permission scopes
- Access to a recording's agent-readable context follows the same link-based sharing rules as the recording itself, so anyone holding an unrestricted public link can access it.
“Context access follows the recording’s access rules. Anyone with an unrestricted public link can open it, so check access before sharing.”
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 - Compliance certifications
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Regulatory alignment
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Outcome-based pricing
- Pricing beyond the free allowance is a flat monthly subscription fee rather than tied to task outcomes.
“Beyond that allowance, recording requires Pro at $9 per month.”
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 - Settlement mechanism
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Asset custody
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Dispute process
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- SLA terms
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Evaluation coverage
- Vendor published a single controlled benchmark (20 trials, one synthetic UI task, using Codex) comparing structured recording context to transcript-only input, and explicitly disclaims that the result generalizes to other tasks, models, or competing tools.
“In Clipy’s controlled coding benchmark, structured recording context outperformed transcript-only input on one synthetic UI task. The report includes the recording, context, scoring criteria, and results from 20 primary trials with Codex. It does not establish the same improvement for every task, model, or competing tool.”
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 - Self-reported performance
- Vendor claims its structured recording context outperformed transcript-only input in its own internal benchmark.
“structured recording context outperformed transcript-only input on one synthetic UI task.”
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026
Agency
- Autonomy level
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Human oversight
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Goal complexity
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Action space
- Each share link yields both a video for people to watch and a markdown report for agents to read.
“Every share link stays a video your team watches and a .md report your agents read.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 18, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
clipy.online · checked Sep 4, 2026 - Operating environment
- Runs as a native Mac app, a Chrome extension, and a web recorder, capturing from apps, terminals, simulators, or browser tabs.
“Clipy is an agent-readable screen recorder for Mac, Chrome, and the web, so the same link gives agents structured context from a native app, terminal, simulator, or browser tab.”
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 - Initiative
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
Safety
- Safety evaluations
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Red teaming
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Safety policy
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Usage restrictions
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Model or system card
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Incident reporting
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Third-party evaluations
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Data handling
- Recordings stored on Clipy servers, unlisted by default so only link-holders can view, deletable by the user at any time
“They're unlisted by default, so only people with the link can view. You can delete any recording at any time.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 18, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
clipy.online · checked Sep 4, 2026
Practicality
- Pricing model
- Freemium: free allowance then paid subscription once exceeded
“Past the allowance, recording needs Pro at $9/mo”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 18, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
clipy.online · checked Sep 4, 2026 - Price point
- Recording past the free allowance requires the Pro tier at $9 per month. The cited quote does not state the size of the allowance.
“Past the allowance, recording needs Pro at $9/mo”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 18, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
clipy.online · checked Sep 4, 2026 - Availability
- Free to start with no payment card required. The capture names no release stage, so no general-availability claim is made.
“Free to start, no card”
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 - Deployment options
- Browser-based; no install or configuration required
“No app needed Runs in the browser. No install, no nag screens, nothing to configure.”
clipy.online · checked Sep 4, 2026 - Integrations
- Claude Code, Codex or Cursor, set up in one command, capture their own work
“Set up Claude Code, Codex, or Cursor in one command and they capture their own work.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 18, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
clipy.online · checked Sep 4, 2026 - Supported regions
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Support model
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
Foundation models
- Base models
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Model provider
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Model swappable
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Open weights
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Fine-tuning
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Context window
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
Ecosystem
- Protocols supported
- MCP server (@clipy/mcp) for authenticated agent access to private recordings and library search
“Use npx -y @clipy/mcp for private recordings, library search, and authenticated inline frame access.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 18, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
clipy.online · checked Sep 4, 2026 - Tool use
- Clipy exposes an MCP-based skill/tool interface letting connected coding agents read accessible recording links and use library-search tools.
“The skill reads accessible links; authenticated MCP tools also support library workflows.”
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 - Multi-agent
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- API access
- Product offers a CLI and an MCP server for scripted setup and agent integration, not just a web UI.
“install @clipy/cli globally, run `clipy login`, install the Clipy skill for whichever agent you are, register the Clipy MCP server globally, and verify with `clipy doctor --json`.”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 18, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 - Open source
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Marketplace presence
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
Impact
- User base
- Self-reported site counters as of the 2026-09-04 capture - 512,800 recordings shared and 319,150 people creating. A later 2026-09-11 capture carries higher figures under deployment_scale, so read these as a dated snapshot of a live counter rather than a current total.
“512,800 Recordings shared 44,900 Hours captured 319,150 People creating”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 18, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
clipy.online · checked Sep 4, 2026 - Deployment scale
- Site displays live usage counters showing roughly 529K recordings shared, 46K hours captured, and 330K users, with about 4,000 recordings in the last 24 hours.
“529,050 Recordings shared 45,950 Hours captured 329,550 People creating 4,000 In the last 24h”
Not in our latest capture. This quote was on the page when we filed it. We captured the same page again on Sep 18, 2026 and it was not there. The value above has not been re-checked by an editor yet. How we re-check citations
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 - Target sectors
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- High-risk domains
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Documented incidents
- no public informationclipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026 · source did not state this
- Market recognition
- Product is backed by parent company Codersera, described as having a decade of experience building developer tools.
“Backed by Codersera, building developer tools for 10+ years”
clipy.online · checked Sep 11, 2026
In the wire
Reporting backed by the same source documents as clipy AI Agent’s own evidenced fields.